Best Stephen King Books – Reddit Top Choices

Stephen King has a really long list of books to his name. If you’re just starting to read his books or you’re not sure you’d be able to read them all and would love to select only the best ones, this page is for you.

Reddit is a nice platform to find brutally honest reviews of Stephen King’s books. But there are so many threads and posts that you’d have to spend several hours to figure out the best books by the prolific novelist.

So, we decided to do the hard work for you. We scoured Reddit for threads on the best books by Stephen King, gathered the most insightful comments and recommendations, and put them together on this page — to help you make the right choice within minutes!

Read on to learn more from Reddit users’ opinions.

Best Stephen King Books (Reddit Recommendations)

Ranked in order of the number of positive reviews and “votes” we found on Reddit, the following are the best books ever written by Stephen King.

1. The Stand

Agreed, The Stand is so epic. I think Carrie would be right after the stand for me because it is a very important, relevant book. Then after that I would put IT.chorizobisque
The Stand, Misery, The Running Man, The Long Walk, The Dead Zone, The Shining, Carrie, Needful Things, Pet Sematary, Firestarter, It, The Dark Tower series…

All of the above are solid reads and will give you a sampler of his best works.crazydave333

The Stand & The Shining are his two “classics” that I cherish most.MarioSpeedwagon13
The stand, uncut, is his best bookBogthehorible
My favourite book is The Stand. Parts of it I’m not too keen on, but the everyday survival of the last people on earth I find highly entertaining. I also really like the first four Dark Tower books. The other three I try to ignore.RBedlam
My three favorite horror novels are The Stand in number 1, The Dead Zone in number two, and Misery in number 3. Also I’m reading the Dark Tower Series and I love it!A deleted user
The Stand, out of the countless books and authors I’ve read, is my favorite book of all time. Granted, most of Kings books are very well done and he has a knack for character creation that make most his books a great.phirestorm
The Stand is great! I was initially intimidated my the sheer length of it (unabridged audio book version of 40+ hours), but it’s so worth it as is now one of if not my favorite King book. PurpOrchid
The Stand is definitely my single favorite novel.sconnick124
The Stand. Hands down. Reading it made me a better father, husband and person.ZenMasterFlash
I think that The Stand is one of the best novels I ever read – of any genre.Julioscoundrel
The Stand. Just read it and you will not put it down.peterguzzinia
The stand ,I’ve read it 5 x so far.kimobeau
The Stand, hands down. Read it 3 times so far. Quintessential good vs evil, dystopian epic.cryingisasolution
There are 2 absolute masterpieces. The Stand, 11.22.63. A very close 3rd is: IT – In my opinion. Thankspaschelnafvk
The Stand, easily. It’s both one of his best books in general, and is somewhat the core of his ‘universe’, so it’s a great starting point.Laszerus
The Stand is my favorite book of all time – personally I prefer the original abridged version. The Long Walk is amazing, and you absolutely cannot go wrong with the Shining… enjoy them all, you have a lot of great reading ahead of youMrszeno34

2. IT

IT is by far my favorite. The Stand and then probably Tommyknockers.Hop_Swami
Currently Reading IT and I am obsessed. I was worried starting it that the first chapter would draw you in and then the next 500 pages would be boring. I was wrong. The way he wrote this book is so compelling and keeps your attention the whole way through.

EDIT* Just finished the book. Really Really good, top 5 books I have read. The only thing that kind of ruined the ending for me was the sewer seen with the kids when they are lost. It made me feel uncomfortable. Just my thought.dwilliams1189

Top 3 for me would be IT, Different Seasons and Pet Sematary, however anything written in the 70s and 80s is pretty great. I hate to say it, but his drug and drinking days produced his best work, the guy was firing on all cylinders back then and producing some amazing work.krp31489
IT is definitely my favorite book by King and I think it’s a great idea to read it before the movie comes out you’ll be so glad you did.purpickle212
It, The Long Walk and Misery are my top 3.Guillex014
IT by far it is simply one of my favorite books of all time! Also the Dark Tower series once you read a few of his works would be nice. Additionally 11.22.63 and his short story collection Skeleton crew.RahulBhatia10
IT, The Stand, Misery, The Shining, Night Shift/Skeleton Crew, The Long Walk…and more recently, I really love Duma Key, 11/22/63, Full Dark No Stars, and Bag of Bones (great book, terrible climax!).Arrivaderchie
Honestly, I think IT is his best. It’s his most no guts no glory novel and I respect the hell out of it.Film_ANTHologist
Pet semetary is absolutely amazing. Probably my second favorite after “it” and if you are new to King a really good one to start with. I really resonated with the main characters inner dialogue and you feel everything he feels.connorrgillies
IT and 11/22/63 will always have my love. I remember loving Insomnia, but I read it 19 years ago so barely remember it.marieelaine03
IT is a total masterpiece. There is enough good content in that book for about 10 stories. The film drops whole side-plots and character arcs, which of course it had to do, but the book is so deep and involved that you care about all of the characters. The book is huge though, but it’s a book to relish, not to rush to the end.beardless
It, the Stand, the Shining, and 11/22/63 are the best books he’s ever written in my opinion. Every King book I’ve read since has just been me chasing the high these books gave me and I just can’t quite catch it again.PennywiseEsquire

3. Pet Sematary

I really liked Pet Sematary. At the beginning of my copy, there is a note from Stephen King and he mentions how it was the book that gave him chills and made him question how his brain came up with some ideas. For the most part, I didn’t think it was too scary. Despite this, I am still haunted by the final page.A deleted user
I’ve been entranced while reading pretty much all of his books, but Pet Sematary is the one my mind keeps going back to. Horrifying.henrymatt
Pet semetary is absolutely amazing. Probably my second favorite after “it” and if you are new to King a really good one to start with.connorrgillies
The Shining, Pet Sematery, and Misery are my favorites.PotatoQuie
Top 3 for me would be IT, Different Seasons and Pet Sematary, however anything written in the 70s and 80s is pretty great.krp31489
I’m new to King but I loved Pet Semetery and Nightshift is full of great stories too.ubeezy_
I would go with The Shining, Misery, or Pet Sematary.bsabiston
Probably It, but Pet Sematary is a close secondPuzzleheaded_Runner
Pet Semetary is a great book also, as well as IT, The Shining, and Doctor Sleep.PurpOrchid
100% agreed! I read Pet Cemetery at least ten years ago and still think of the ending. There’s just not a lot of other books that have that kind of holding power.jjams1

4. The Shining

The Shining, Pet Sematery, and Misery are my favorites. I too haven’t read It yet, but it is on my to-read list (along with The Stand).PotatoQuie
The Shining by far to me, its like one of his only novels that I actually think isn’t overly padded out. It also has a bunch of really good, memorable characters. Upon that its also just very creepy and eerie at times.Atwalol
IT terrified me when I read it. I really enjoyed The Tommyknockers. The Shining is my favorite. The Stand is good but it’s long.xo_sexysadie_xo
I would go with The Shining, Misery, or Pet Sematary.bsabiston
The Shining was definitely his best–a really gripping story. For me, it was all downhill from there.nona31
Can’t believe the Shining isn’t up here. Only book I ever had to sit down and walk into another room over. Freaky.pyomanser365
I still think The Shining is his most perfect novel.Cathalgburke

5. 11-22-63

11-22-63 is frigging amazing. I read it in 2 long sessions and I was left feeling heartbroken but at the same time uplifted. Sometimes his full length novels tend to fall short on the ending; not this novel. I strongly recommend it.CanadaceBedard
11-22-63, The Stand, The Long Walk, Salem’s Lot. Those are my favourites so far (still going).ollyollyollyolly
11-22-63 was really good until the ending, which was awful. Also, I kinda hate how awkard it is to talk about in conversation with that name.strawberry36
I absolutely loved 11/22/63. It’s one of the best books I’ve ever read.Vateke
22/11/63: it is the best written book from King in my opinionivan9402
11/22/63 has the best love story I’ve ever read in it. That being said, ‘Salems Lot might be the best horror novel of all timeWildwillyp1993
11/22/63 is my vote as well. Enthralling, couldn’t put it down, and you almost forget that time travel doesn’t actually exist as it becomes a seamless part of the narrative.Manna_of_Maryland

6. The Long Walk

His short story ‘The Long Walk’, which he actually published as Richard Bachman, is worth seeking out…beardless
I second The Long Walk. Most King stuff I find pretty good but not thought-provoking – for me, he’s someone I read when I don’t want something heavy. The Long Walk, however, stuck with me for a long time after finishing it.LamentForIcarus
I came to say The Long Walk. It was the most interesting I have read so far of his books.SnowFlake0287
The Long Walk for me too! Absolutely loved this bookeshizzle27
I read The Long Walk years and years ago, but it made such an impact on me and still sticks out in my mind so much that I still think and talk about it often.v

Notnowmomsonreddit
My all time favorite is The Long Walk. I also really like The Running Man. I just recently read Pet Semetary and thought it was top notch! If you're just starting out, you just have to dive in and see what works for you! ruinyourself
The Long Walk may be my favorite King book as well; his books that are most heavily rooted in reality with touches of paranormal or fantastical ideas are his best imo. frostfromfire

7. Joyland

I really recommend Joyland. The characterisation is great, it’s totally creepy (crime/ghost horror), and overall it’s pretty moving as a story.bezzybee
Just read Joyland and absolutely loved it!halfofmyheart
Joyland and 11/22/63 are my all time favorites of his._michigan

8. Misery

I highly recommend it (Misery), it’s a fantastic look into psychological torture. Love love love it.HorrorQueen26
Misery, hands down.kmv2005
My favourite is Misery which was the first one I ever read 🙂Herecomesthesun239
Adblock
detector